Сообщество Викимедиа

Феликс Нарти

Хаос Второй мировой войны коснулся всех уголков мира, включая Золотой Берег (ныне Гана). В 1941 году британский военный офицер создал больницу общего профиля № 37 для оказания медицинской помощи пострадавшим военнослужащим в Аккре, где находился штаб британского командования в Западной Африке. Сегодня больница, которая имеет 400 коек, обслуживает население и является клинической больницей для врачей, проходящих обучение.

В феврале 2014 года прогуливая мимо 37-го военного госпиталя Феликс Нарти сделал фотографию. Он попытался добавить фотографию в статью о больнице в Википедии и обнаружил, что такой статьи нету. Таким образом, он создал короткую статью в ту же ночь. Всего несколько недель спустя Нарти заметил, что два других участника добавили больше информации в статье.

Сотрудничество и обмен знаниями — именно поэтому Нарти так предан Википедии. Три редактора совместно создали богатый информационный ресурс о больнице, которого раньше не было.

«Я, как Викимедиец, сосредоточен на том, чтобы размещать информацию о своей стране в Интернете и с помощью моего вклада показать наследие и культуру своей страны», — объясняет Нарти на своей личной странице участника.

Нарти изменил мир и в 2017 году его признали Википедистом года.

«Единственный способ оказать влияние на этот мир, — это всегда оставлять какой-то след позади, откуда вы родом, и возвращать что-то обществу, чтобы это не стоило вам… Именно такое чувство я испытываю всякий раз, когда редактирую Википедию. И я знаю, что каждый википедист рад видеть ваше влияние».

Повышение качества и количества статей по африканской тематике

Африка является вторым по величине и численности населения континентом мира. Тем не менее, гораздо больше статей есть в Википедии о Европе и Северной Америке. Статьи об африканской истории, культуре и личностях, как правило, скудны. Нарти пытается выяснить причину этого, и поэтому работает над тем, чтобы вдохновить новых участников в своей стране поделиться своими знаниями.

«Участники проектов Викимедиа в настоящее время составляют лишь небольшую часть технологического сообщества в Гане», — объясняет он. «Я хочу повысить осведомлённость и создать устойчивые группы, заинтересованные в том, чтобы внести свой вклад и помочь улучшить информацию о Гане в проектах Викимедиа».

По мнению Нарти, низкий уровень участия в проектах Викимедиа отчасти обусловлен растущей безработицей в Гане; люди в меньшей степени готовы пожертвовать своё свободное время. Интернет также может быть ненадёжным и дорогим. «Люди, как правило, стремятся обойтись без Интернета или ставят его последним в списке своих приоритетов, что, конечно, влияет на вклад в Википедию», — объясняет он.

Вдохновить ганцев делиться своими знаниями

Нарти не в отчаянии. Он с энтузиазмом относится к инструментам и технологиям с открытым исходным кодом, и старается помочь в расширении доступа к Интернету в Гане. Нарти возглавляет несколько инициатив, в которых он пропагандирует важность редактирования Википедии. GLAM мероприятия, Wikipedia Education Program и Wikipedia Library входят в число таких проектов․ Нарти встречается со студентами, должностными лицами культурных организаций и википедистами и вдохновляет людей из своей страны делиться своими знаниями.

«Информация сама по себе бесполезна, пока она не будет доступна всему миру», — объясняет он. «И единственный способ сделать это — через Википедию. Вам нужно [подчеркнуть] эту суть в умах людей и вдохновить их вносить свой вклад в Википедию. Так как Википедия уже имеет такое влияние, достаточно легко кому-то сказать, что тебе нужно вносить свой вклад в онлайн энциклопедию».

Авторство фото

Photo of Felix Nartey

Felix Nartey

Ruby Mizrahi

CC SA 3.0

Photo of Felix Nartey
Photo by Ruby Mizrahi/Wikimedia Foundation, CC BY-SA 3.0.

The chaos of the Second World War touched all corners of the world—including the Gold Coast (now Ghana). In 1941, a British military officer established No. 37 General Hospital to provide medical care for injured troops in Accra, where the headquarters of Britain’s West Africa Command was located. Today, the 400-bed hospital serves the public and is a teaching hospital for doctors in training.

Felix Nartey was strolling past the 37 Military Hospital in February 2014 when he snapped a photo. He tried to add it to the hospital’s Wikipedia article—only to discover there wasn’t one. So he created a short stub article that night. Just a few weeks later, Nartey noticed two other editors had added more information to the page.

This collaboration and knowledge sharing is exactly why Nartey is so committed to Wikipedia. Together, three editors created an information-rich resource about the hospital that previously hadn’t existed.

“I am focused as a Wikimedian on getting local contents for my country online and to project the heritage and culture of my country through my contributions,” Nartey explains on his user page. “I believe it takes people like me to make that difference.”

Nartey has made a difference—so much so that he was recognized as the 2017 Wikipedian of the Year.

“The only way you can have an impact in this world is to always leave something behind from where you came from and give back to society, whatever that means for you… That is the feeling I get whenever I edit Wikipedia. And I feel like it’s the joy of every Wikipedian to really see your impact.”

Increasing the quality and quantity of articles on African topics

Africa is the world’s second-largest and second-most-populous continent. Yet far more Wikipedia articles exist about topics in Europe and North America. Articles about African history, culture, and figures tend to be shorter and less detailed. Nartey tries to figure out why these gaps exist and works to inspire new contributors in his country to share their knowledge.

“Contributors to Wikimedia projects is currently skewed to just a small portion of the technology community in Ghana,” he explains. “I wish to create the awareness and establish sustainable groups with an interest to contribute and help improve Ghanaian-related data on Wikimedia Projects.”

Nartey attributes some of the low participation to Ghana’s growing unemployment; people are less willing to contribute their time for free. Internet can also be unreliable and expensive. “People tend to go without it or place it last on their list of priorities, which, of course, affects contributions to Wikipedia,” he explains.

Inspiring Ghanaians to share their knowledge

Nartey is not discouraged. He’s enthusiastic about-open source tools and technologies and his efforts include helping to expand internet access in Ghana. Nartey leads several initiatives where he promotes the importance of editing Wikipedia. Some examples include GLAM activities, the Wikipedia Education Program, and the Wikipedia Library. Nartey speaks with students, cultural organization officials, and Wikipedians to encourage people from his country to contribute their knowledge.

“Information itself is useless until it’s shared with the whole world,” he explains. “And the only way you can do that is through a medium like Wikipedia. You need to [highlight] that essence in the minds of people and inspire them to contribute to Wikipedia. It’s easy for you to tap in and just tell someone you need to do this because Wikipedia is already creating that impact.”

Recent posts by Felix Nartey

GLAM Wikipedia Library

1Lib1Ref spreads to the Southern Hemisphere and beyond

#1Lib1Ref is an annual campaign where librarians and other contributors to Wikipedia add references to improve statements with the ultimate objective of improving the reliability of Wikipedia. In 2018, the Iberocoop Network participated in the #1lib1ref campaign (1bib1ref in Spanish) in Latin America. The campaign ran for three weeks in May 2018, to commemorate the….

Photo credits

Photo of Felix Nartey

Felix Nartey

Ruby Mizrahi

CC SA 3.0

Foto grupal - Campaña 1bib1ref

Giselle Bordoy/Wikimedia Argentina

CC BY-SA 4.0