امتدت فوضى الحرب العالمية الثانية إلى جميع أنحاء العالم – بما في ذلك ساحل الذهب (غانا الآن). في عام 1941 ، أنشأ ضابط عسكري بريطاني المستشفى 37 العام لتقديم الرعاية الطبية للقوات الجرحى في أكرا ، حيث كان مقر القيادة البريطانية لغرب أفريقيا. اليوم ، مستشفى الـ400 سرير يخدم الجمهور وهو مستشفى تعليمي للأطباء في التدريب.

كان فيليكس نارتي يتجول في مستشفي 37 عسكري في فبراير 2014 عندما التقط صورة. حاول إضافتها إلى مقالة ويكيبيديا عن المستشفى – الا انه اكتشاف أنه لا يوجد مقالة. لذلك انشأ مقالة قصيرة في تلك الليلة. بعد أسابيع قليلة ، لاحظ نارتي أن اثنين آخرين من المحررين أضافا مزيدًا من المعلومات إلى الصفحة.

هذا التعاون وتبادل المعرفة هو بالضبط السبب الذي يجعل نارتي ملتزمًا جدًا في ويكيبيديا. قام مع ثلاثة محررين ، بإنشاء مصدر غني بالمعلومات عن المستشفى الذي لم يكن موجودًا من قبل.

“أنا أركز كويكيبيدي على نشر المحتويات المحلية لبلدي على الإنترنت ، ولإبراز تراث وثقافة بلدي من خلال مساهماتي” ، يوضح نارتي في صفحة المستخدم الخاصة به. “أعتقد أن الأمر يتطلب أشخاص مثلي لكي يحدثوا هذا الاختلاف.”

لقد أحدث نارتي فرقًا – لدرجة أنه حصل على  جائزة ويكيبيدي العام 2017.

“إن الطريقة الوحيدة التي يمكن أن يكون لك بها تأثير في هذا العالم هي أن تترك دائماً شيئاً وراءك من حيث أتيت وتعطيه للمجتمع ، مهما كان ذلك يعني بالنسبة لك … هذا هو الشعور الذي أحصل عليه كلما قمت بتحرير ويكيبيديا. انها فرحة كل ويكيبيدي أن ترى حقا تأثيرك “.

 

زيادة جودة وكمية المقالات حول الموضوعات الأفريقية

إفريقيا هي ثاني أكبر قارة في العالم وثاني أكثرها كثافة سكانية. مع ذلك ، توجد مقالات أكثر في ويكيبيديا حول مواضيع في أوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية. بينما المقالات حول الثقافة التاريخ الأفريقي  تميل إلى أن تكون أقصر وأقل تفصيلاً. يحاول نارتي معرفة سبب وجود هذه الفجوات ويعمل على إلهام المساهمين الجدد في بلده لمشاركة معرفتهم.

ويشرح قائلاً: “إن المساهمين في مشروعات ويكيميديا يشكلون في الوقت الحالي جزء صغير من مجتمع التكنولوجيا في غانا”. “أود إنشاء الوعي وإنشاء مجموعات مستدامة لها اهتمام للمساهمة والمساعدة في تحسين البيانات المتعلقة بغانا في مشاريع ويكيميديا”.

ويرجع نارتي بعض الانخفاض في نسبة المشاركة إلى البطالة المتنامية في غانا. الناس أقل رغبة في المساهمة بوقتهم مجانًا. والإنترنت أيضًا لا يعتمد عليه  ومكلف. “يميل الناس إلى ممارسة نشاطهم بدونه أو وضعه في أسفل أولوياتهم ، وهو الأمر الذي يؤثر بالطبع على المساهمات في ويكيبيديا” .

إلهام الغانيين لمشاركة معرفتهم

نارتي غير محبط. وهو متحمّس لأدوات وتقنيات المصادر المفتوحة ، وتشمل جهوده المساعدة في توسيع الوصول إلى الإنترنت في غانا. يقود نارتي العديد من المبادرات حيث يشجع على أهمية تحرير ويكيبيديا. وتشمل بعض الأمثلة أنشطة GLAM ، وبرنامج ويكيبيديا التعليمي ، ومكتبة ويكيبيديا. يتحدث مع الطلاب ومسؤولي المنظمات الثقافية والويكيبيديين لتشجيع الناس من بلاده على المساهمة بمعرفتهم.

“المعلومات في حد ذاتها غير مجدية حتى يتم مشاركتها مع العالم بأسره” ، يشرح. “والطريقة الوحيدة التي يمكنك من خلالها القيام بذلك هي من خلال وسيط مثل ويكيبيديا. تحتاج إلى [إبراز] هذا الجوهر في عقول الناس وإلهامهم للمساهمة في ويكيبيديا. من السهل بالنسبة لك أن تشارك وتخبر أحدا ما تحتاجه للقيام بذلك لأن ويكيبيديا تخلق بالفعل هذا التأثير. “

 

حقوق الصورة

Photo of Felix Nartey
Photo by Ruby Mizrahi/Wikimedia Foundation, CC BY-SA 3.0.

The chaos of the Second World War touched all corners of the world—including the Gold Coast (now Ghana). In 1941, a British military officer established No. 37 General Hospital to provide medical care for injured troops in Accra, where the headquarters of Britain’s West Africa Command was located. Today, the 400-bed hospital serves the public and is a teaching hospital for doctors in training.

Felix Nartey was strolling past the 37 Military Hospital in February 2014 when he snapped a photo. He tried to add it to the hospital’s Wikipedia article—only to discover there wasn’t one. So he created a short stub article that night. Just a few weeks later, Nartey noticed two other editors had added more information to the page.

This collaboration and knowledge sharing is exactly why Nartey is so committed to Wikipedia. Together, three editors created an information-rich resource about the hospital that previously hadn’t existed.

“I am focused as a Wikimedian on getting local contents for my country online and to project the heritage and culture of my country through my contributions,” Nartey explains on his user page. “I believe it takes people like me to make that difference.”

Nartey has made a difference—so much so that he was recognized as the 2017 Wikipedian of the Year.

“The only way you can have an impact in this world is to always leave something behind from where you came from and give back to society, whatever that means for you… That is the feeling I get whenever I edit Wikipedia. And I feel like it’s the joy of every Wikipedian to really see your impact.”

Increasing the quality and quantity of articles on African topics

Africa is the world’s second-largest and second-most-populous continent. Yet far more Wikipedia articles exist about topics in Europe and North America. Articles about African history, culture, and figures tend to be shorter and less detailed. Nartey tries to figure out why these gaps exist and works to inspire new contributors in his country to share their knowledge.

“Contributors to Wikimedia projects is currently skewed to just a small portion of the technology community in Ghana,” he explains. “I wish to create the awareness and establish sustainable groups with an interest to contribute and help improve Ghanaian-related data on Wikimedia Projects.”

Nartey attributes some of the low participation to Ghana’s growing unemployment; people are less willing to contribute their time for free. Internet can also be unreliable and expensive. “People tend to go without it or place it last on their list of priorities, which, of course, affects contributions to Wikipedia,” he explains.

Inspiring Ghanaians to share their knowledge

Nartey is not discouraged. He’s enthusiastic about-open source tools and technologies and his efforts include helping to expand internet access in Ghana. Nartey leads several initiatives where he promotes the importance of editing Wikipedia. Some examples include GLAM activities, the Wikipedia Education Program, and the Wikipedia Library. Nartey speaks with students, cultural organization officials, and Wikipedians to encourage people from his country to contribute their knowledge.

“Information itself is useless until it’s shared with the whole world,” he explains. “And the only way you can do that is through a medium like Wikipedia. You need to [highlight] that essence in the minds of people and inspire them to contribute to Wikipedia. It’s easy for you to tap in and just tell someone you need to do this because Wikipedia is already creating that impact.”

Recent posts by Felix Nartey

GLAM Wikipedia Library

1Lib1Ref spreads to the Southern Hemisphere and beyond

#1Lib1Ref is an annual campaign where librarians and other contributors to Wikipedia add references to improve statements with the ultimate objective of improving the reliability of Wikipedia. In 2018, the Iberocoop Network participated in the #1lib1ref campaign (1bib1ref in Spanish) in Latin America. The campaign ran for three weeks in May 2018, to commemorate the….

Photo credits

Photo of Felix Nartey

Felix Nartey

Ruby Mizrahi

CC SA 3.0

Foto grupal - Campaña 1bib1ref

Giselle Bordoy/Wikimedia Argentina

CC BY-SA 4.0