工作人員

Katherine Maher

Katherine Maher是維基媒體基金會的執行董事,負責監督維基媒體基金會及其專業人員的運作。

Katherine來自美國康涅狄格州,她的職業生涯始於技術,人權,民主和國際發展的交匯點。在加入維基媒體基金會之前,她曾擔任華盛頓特區國際數位權利組織Access的宣傳總監,負責處理與言論自由,信息獲取和隱私有關的全球政策問題。

在加入Access之前,Katherine是世界銀行的信息和通信技術(ICT)的創新專家; 國家民主研究所的ICT項目官員; 聯合國兒童基金會的創新和溝通官員,她是聯合國兒童基金會創新團隊的創始成員。她於2014年加入維基媒體基金會,擔任該組織的首任首席通訊官。

Katherine於2005年在敘利亞大馬士革和埃及開羅的美國大學阿拉伯語言學院和法語阿拉伯人大法學院學習後,於2005年獲得紐約大學藝術與科學學院的中東和伊斯蘭研究學士學位。

Katherine是杜魯門國家安全項目的研究員,她有關人權,技術和外交政策的著作出現在各種出版物中,包括“State Power 2.0”和期刊“Foreign Policy”,“Atlantic”和“Guardian”。她是開放技術基金諮詢委員會和陽光基金會董事會成員。Katherine在三藩市工作,但是她為了工作而經常旅行。

照片來源

20180523_WIKI_KM_270

Wikimedia Foundation

CC-BY-SA 4.0

Leadership Team

Katherine Maher

Katherine Maher is the Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of the Wikimedia Foundation and oversees the operations of the organization and its professional staff.

Originally from Connecticut, USA, Katherine has spent her career at the intersection of technology, human rights, democracy and international development. Before joining the Foundation, she was Advocacy Director for the international digital rights organization Access in Washington, D.C., where she worked on global policy issues related to freedom of expression, access to information and privacy.

Prior to Access, Katherine was an Information and Communications Technology (ICT) Innovations Specialist at the World Bank; ICT Program Officer at the National Democratic Institute; and Innovation and Communication Officer at UNICEF, where she was a founding member of the UNICEF Innovation team. She joined the Wikimedia Foundation in 2014 as the organization’s first Chief Communications Officer.

Katherine received her Bachelor’s degree in Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies in 2005 from New York University’s College of Arts and Science, after studying at the Arabic Language Institute of the American University in Cairo, Egypt, and Institut français d’études arabes de Damas (L’IFEAD) in Damascus, Syria.

Katherine is a fellow at the Truman National Security Project, and her writings on human rights, technology and foreign policy have appeared in various publications, including the book “State Power 2.0” and periodicals Foreign Policy, the Atlantic and the Guardian. She is a member of the Advisory Council of the Open Technology Fund and the board of the Sunlight Foundation. Katherine is based in San Francisco, though it may be more accurate to say she lives in a metal tube in the sky.

Recent posts by Katherine Maher View all

Another dimension

Amid COVID-19, Wikimedia Foundation offers full pay for reduced hours, mobilizes all staff to work remote, and waives sick time

Foundation

Update: On March 14, 2020, the Wikimedia Foundation announced new measures to support employees and protect general public health amid COVID-19. As part of these operational actions, we have: Closed both Foundation offices in San Francisco and Washington, DC, until at least March 31, 2020. All staff are now working remotely.  Shifted to a reduced….

Read more

Why we must all support policy that keeps the internet open and accessible

Communications

This week, the Wikimedia Foundation was invited to provide opening remarks for the third annual Global Conference of the Internet Jurisdiction and Policy Network in Berlin, Germany. This conference represents a place for civil society, platforms, elected representatives, policymakers, and other stakeholders to come together and discuss how we can manage tensions between competing national….

Read more

Photo credits

20180523_WIKI_KM_270

Wikimedia Foundation

CC-BY-SA 4.0