الفريق القيادي

ريان ميركلي

Ryan Merkley

يشغل ريان ميركلي منصب مدير الموظفين تحت إشراف المدير التنفيذي لمؤسسة ويكيميديا، حيث يرفع من مستوى الانتشار والإمكانات وكفاءة مكتب المدير التنفيذي وإدارة مهام مكتب المدير التنفيذي الهامة التي تضم مشاريع خاصة وعلاقات مجلس الأمناء والعلاقات الخارجية واجتماعات الموظفين والمطبوعات، وكذلك تطوير مكتب المدير التنفيذي ومجلس الأمناء. قبل انضمامه إلى مؤسسة ويكيميديا، شغل ريان منصب المدير التنفيذي في المشاع الإبداعي (Creative Commons) لمدة خمس سنوات، وهي المنظمة غير الهادفة للربح التي تكرس جهدها لتوسيع مجال توفر وإعادة مشاركة وتيسير الوصول إلى الأعمال الإبداعية.

أصبحت تراخيص المشاع الإبداعي هي المعيار القياسي العالمي للمشاركة، ويقدم لها المساندة مجتمع دولي من المتطوعين. تولى ريان أثناء عمله لدى المشاع الإبداعي زمام قيادة الصياغة التعاونية للخطة الاستراتيجية الخمسية للمنظمة وكذلك إعادة إحياء Global Network وتأسيس منظمة أكثر استدامة. دشن ريان في 2018 CC Search، بهدف فهرسة كافة الأعمال المرخصة التي يبلغ عددها 1.6 مليار المتاحة على الإنترنت وذلك من 9 مليون موقع شبكي؛ ودشن أيضا CC Certificate، أول برنامج تعلم شامل يتعلق باستخدام أدوات المشاع الإبداعي والعمل بصفة مفتوحة.

قبل انضمامه إلى المشاع الإبداعي، شغل ريان منصب مدير العمليات في موزيلا، ومنصب مدير الاتصالات المؤسسية في مجلس مدينة فانكوفر أثناء دورة الألعاب الأولمبية الشتوية 2010 وشغل منصب كبير استشاريين للعمدة ديفيد ميلر في تورونتو، حيث تولى صياغة سياسة العمدة للميزانية ودشن مشروع تورونتو للبيانات المفتوحة. يتمتع رايان بخبرة واسعة في مجال تنظيم الحملات ويناصر قضايا اجتماعية وقدم المشورة لحملات سياسية على المستويين المحلي والوطني. كما أنه يدرس درجة زمالة في مركز Harvard Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society في العام الدراسي 2019-2020.

يعيش ريان في تورونتو مع ابنته، وزوجته كيلسي، وكلبهم باركلي.

حقوق الصورة

Ryan Merkley

TerBurgDSCF0820_(34367491515)

سيباستيان تير بورغ

CC BY 2.0

Leadership Team

Ryan Merkley

Ryan Merkley

Ryan Merkley is the Chief of Staff to the Executive Director at the Wikimedia Foundation, where he increases the reach, capacity, and efficacy of the executive office, managing critical executive office functions that include special projects, Board relations, external relations, staff meetings and materials, and executive and Board development. Prior to joining the Wikimedia Foundation, Ryan was Chief Executive Officer at Creative Commons (CC) for five years, the nonprofit dedicated to expanding the availability, re-sharing, and accessibility of creative works.

CC licenses are the global standard for sharing, supported by an international volunteer community. While at Creative Commons, Ryan led the collaborative development of the organization’s five-year strategic plan, the Global Network revitalization, and built a more sustainable organization. In 2018, Ryan launched CC Search, with a goal of indexing all 1.6 billion licensed works online, across 9 million websites; and the CC Certificate, the first comprehensive learning program for using CC tools and working openly.

Before joining CC, Ryan was Chief Operating Officer of Mozilla, served as Director of Corporate Communications for the City of Vancouver for the 2010 Winter Games, and was a Senior Advisor to Mayor David Miller in Toronto, where he led the Mayor’s budget policy and initiated Toronto’s Open Data project. Ryan is an experienced campaigner and advocate for social causes, and has advised political campaigns at the local and national levels. He is an affiliate of the Harvard Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society for the 2019–20 academic year.

Ryan lives in Toronto with his daughter, his wife Kelsey, and their dog Barkley.

Photo credits