Anusha Alikhan ist Chief Communications Officer der Wikimedia Foundation.

Anusha hat eine mehr als 15-jährige Erfahrung im Kommunikationsbereich, darunter Themen wie Menschenrechte, Technologie, Zugang zu Wissen, internationale Entwicklung, mediale Innovation, Geschlechtergerechtigkeit und Gesundheitsversorgung. Sie kam 2019 als Senior Director of Communications zur Foundation.

In ihrer Rolle als Leiterin der Kommunikationsabteilung ist sie für die Strategie verantwortlich, um bei externen und internen Zielgruppen sowie den Communitys das Verständnis der Wikimedia-Projekte zu verbessern und die Werte sowie die Mission der Foundation für öffentliches Gut voranzubringen.

Vor Wikimedia war sie Kommunikationschefin für die Knight Foundation, wo sie in den Schwerpunktbereichen der Foundation – Journalismus, Communitys, Künste, Lernen – als Mitdenkerin und Strategieentwicklerin tätig war. Davor arbeitete sie im Kommunikationsbereich für die Vereinten Nationen in New York, wo sie an globalen Friedensmissionen mitwirken, und war Kommunikationsberaterin für den Bevölkerungsfonds der Vereinten Nationen (UNFPA). Sie war außerdem Marketingmanagerin für die National Parkinson Foundation, wo sie Kampagnen für Markenbekanntheit und Werbestrategien entwickelte, um die Wirkung in der Community und die Ergebnisse des Programms zu verbessern. Daneben arbeitete sie als freie Journalistin und Publizistin.

Bevor sie eine Karriere als Kommunikationsspezialistin einschlug, war sie in ihrer Heimatstadt Toronto, Kanada, in den Bereichen Arbeitsrecht und Menschenrechte tätig. Heute lebt sie in Miami.

Anusha ist im Vorstand des Communications Network und der Awesome Foundation Miami und Mitglied der Arbeitsgruppe für Diversität, Gerechtigkeit und Inklusion des Communications Network. Sie hat einen Masterabschluss in Journalismus von der New York University, einen rechtswissenschaftlichen Abschluss von der Queen’s University in Ontario sowie einen Honors-BA von der University of Toronto.

Profile — الصفحة الشخصية

Andere Mitglieder vonKommunikation

Wikimedia Foundation offices - camera shy photo
Segun Oworu
Audience Engagement Lifecycle Insights Analyst, Kommunikation
Wikimedia Foundation offices - camera shy photo
CherRaye Glenn
Audience Insights Analyst, Kommunikation
Wikimedia Foundation offices - camera shy photo
Hang Do Thi Duc
Associate Designer, Community Relations, Kommunikation

Bildnachweis

Anusha Alikhan is the Chief Communications Officer at the Wikimedia Foundation.

Anusha has more than 15 years of communications experience spanning the areas of human rights, technology, knowledge access, international development, media innovation, gender equity, and healthcare. She joined the Foundation in 2019 as the Senior Director of Communications. 

In her role leading the Communications department, she leads strategy to advance understanding of Wikimedia projects, and the Foundation’s values and social good mission, across external, internal and community audiences. 

Previously, she was communications director for Knight Foundation, where she worked across the foundation’s focus areas – journalism, communities, arts, learning – as a thought partner and strategy developer. Before that, she served as a communications officer with the United Nations in New York contributing to the advancement of global peacekeeping initiatives, as well as a communications consultant with the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA). She was also marketing manager for the National Parkinson Foundation, where she developed brand awareness campaigns and promotional strategies that helped increase community impact and program results. She has worked as a freelance journalist and editor. 

Before embarking on a professional career in communications, Anusha practiced employment and human rights law in her hometown of Toronto, Canada. She is now based in Miami.

Anusha serves on the board of The Communications Network and Awesome Foundation Miami and is a member of the Communications Network working group for diversity, equity and inclusion. She has a master’s degree in journalism from New York University, a law degree from Queen’s University in Ontario and an honors bachelor of arts from the University of Toronto.

Profiles — الصفحة الشخصية

Other members of Communications

Wikimedia Foundation offices - camera shy photo
Lisa McCabe
Senior Manager, Movement Communications (Contractor), Movement Communications
Mehrdad Pourzakikhani
Lead Movement Communications Specialist (contractor), Movement Communications
Zachary McCune
Director of Brand, Brand

Photo credits

Anusha Alikhan - 2023

Wikimedia Foundation