Stiftungsrat

Dr. Dariusz Jemielniak

Dr. Dariusz Jemielniak ist ordentlicher Professor für Management- und Organisationsstudien, Leiter des MINDS (Management in Networked and Digital Societies) Department an der Kozminski University, sowie associate faculty am Berkman-Klein Center for Internet and Society an der Harvard University.

Aus Warschau in Polen stammend erforscht Dariusz offene Kollaborations-Communitys, das Phänomen des organisierten Sharing (auch der Piraterie) sowie antiwissenschaftliche Bewegungen. Er hat Forschungsprojekte zu verwandten Themen an der Cornell University, der Harvard University, Berkeley, und am MIT geleitet. Im Jahr 2014 hat er Common knowledge? An Ethnography of Wikipedia bei der Stanford University Press veröffentlicht, und 2019 veröffentlichte er Collaborative Society bei der MIT Press (mit A. Przegalinska als Mitautorin). Er hat viele akademische Auszeichungen erhalten, darunter ein Stipendium der Fulbright Foundation (2004), den Dorothy Lee Award for Outstanding Scholarship (2015) und die Auszeichnung des Vorsitzenden der Polnischen Akademie der Wissenschaften für herausragende Gelehrsamkeit (2016).

Dariusz dient momentan im Vorstand des Copernicus Science Center sowie als stellverstretender Vorsitzender im Vorstand von Escola, einer öffentlichen polnischen Firma, deren Schwerpunkt in der Entwicklung mobiler Apps liegt. Zuvor war er Vorsitzender der akademischen Gesellschaft Collegium Invisibile academic society (eine Initiative der OSI). Er war 2015/16 wissenschaftlicher Berater des polnischen Wissenschaftsministeriums und dient zur Zeit im steering committee des Internet Governance Forum in Polen.

Er hat drei Startups entwickelt und verkauft, darunter ling.pl, das größte polnische Online-Wörterbuch, und ist Mitgründer von Insta.Ling, einer freien Plattform für Wortschatzerwerb.

Dariusz hat eine Reihe verschiedener Rollen in der Wikipedia erfüllt, darunter Administrator, Bürokrat, Checkuser, Steward und Ombudsman. Er hat drei Amtszeiten als Vorsitzender des Funds Dissemination Committee der Wikimedia gedient.

Profile — Perfiles

Andere Mitglieder vonStiftungsrat

Jimmy Wales
Jimmy Wales
Trustee, Stiftungsrat
Nataliia Tymkiv
Vice Chair, Stiftungsrat

Bildnachweis

Board of Trustees

Dr. Dariusz Jemielniak

Dr. Dariusz Jemielniak is a full professor of management and organization studies, the head of MINDS (Management in Networked and Digital Societies) department at Kozminski University, and associate faculty at Berkman-Klein Center for Internet and Society at Harvard University.

Originally from WarsawPoland, Dariusz studies open collaboration communities, the phenomenon of organized sharing (including piracy), and anti-scientific movements. He has conducted research projects on related issues at Cornell University, Harvard University, Berkeley, and MIT. In 2014, he published Common knowledge? An Ethnography of Wikipedia at Stanford University Press, and in 2019, he published Collaborative Society with MIT Press (co-authored by A. Przegalinska). He has been the recipient of many academic merit awards, including a Fulbright Foundation scholarship (2004), Dorothy Lee Award for Outstanding Scholarship (2015) and Polish Academy of Sciences Chair award for outstanding scholarship (2016).

Dariusz currently serves on the board of Copernicus Science Center, as well as vice-chair of the board of Escola, a public Polish company focused on mobile app development. Previously, he was a chairperson of the Collegium Invisibile academic society (OSI initiative).He was a scientific advisor to the Ministry of Science in Poland from 2015-2016, and currently serves on the steering committee of Internet Governance Forum in Poland.

He developed and sold three startups, including ling.pl, the largest Polish online dictionary, and is a co-founder of Insta.Ling, a free platform for vocabulary acquisition.

Dariusz has held a variety of different roles on Wikipedia, including administrator, bureaucrat, checkuser, steward, and ombudsman. He served as the chair of Wikimedia’s Funds Dissemination Committee for three terms.

Photo credits

Jemielniak, Dariusz November 2018

Myleen Hollero/Wikimedia Foundation

CC BY-SA 3.0