維基媒體社群

Christine Meyer

您是否曾訪問過維基百科頁面並發現它非常吸引人以至於您閱讀了每個單詞,然後發現自己越來越深入地了解原始資料?以芝麻街的歷史為例。這篇文章描述了早期兒童節目在過去五十年中如何改變和改編,並包含有關該節目最早期的非常生動的細節。

其中很大一部分歸功於Christine Meyer,在維基百科上更為人所知的是FigureSkatingFan。 Meyer曾參與許多與芝麻街有關的文章,包括芝麻街與國際聯合製作相關的文章,以及芝麻街如何進行研究的文章。

Meyer已經編輯維基百科十年了。在那段時間裡,她在網站上進行了超過27,000次修改,並貢獻了23篇典範條目和列表,以及兩個典範主題 – 其中「典範條目」是高質量的指標。她的興趣從兒童節目到美國詩人,回憶錄,民權活動家Maya Angelou再到GA杯,這是一項年度競賽,專注於好文章(另一個質量排名)。

從校對員到編輯

Meyer在維基百科上的第一次編輯於2007年2月3日完成。她說:「我在主頁上看到了標語 – 任何人都可以編輯的免費百科全書 – 並且實際上相信它,所以我點擊了鏈接並設置了一個帳戶,因為我經常做我所說的。」

一開始,Meyer專注於糾正錯別字。 她畢業於檢查消息來源,然後進入編輯研究,寫作和與他人合作。 Meyer說:「我發現我非常喜歡維基百科的協作性質,大多數時候,當它沒有引起爭議的時候。」

所有道路都通往芝麻街

像許多維基百科的編輯一樣,Meyer從她所知道的開始。她是The Muppets的長期粉絲,自1969年首播以來首次開始觀看該節目。Meyer說:「另外,我的孩子有嚴重發育殘疾,所以我們每天都在觀看。這讓我成為兒童電視的專家,因此在維基百科上成為我的發展方向。」

我的其他文章是關於The Wiggles,我知道這的一切,Blue’s Clues(另一篇典範條目)和Sesame Street。 芝麻街的寫作最多,因此很容易研究。 當我在Sesame Street上寫文章時,我發現我有足夠的內容用於芝麻街歷史文章,所以我創建並開發了它。 我開發了一個關於兒童電視的大型圖書館。 有關芝麻街的有趣和鼓舞人心的學習! 我最喜歡的SS文章之一是芝麻街國際聯合製作,因為它描述了芝麻工作室的一些偉大的外展。

The Wiggles是她的第一篇典範條目,因為該劇對她孩子的生活產生了重大影響。 然後她轉向Blue’s Clues – 「這仍然是我兒子在宇宙中最喜歡的東西」- 並且發現了很多關於它的研究。 她的一個消息來源是馬爾科姆·格拉德威爾(Malcolm Gladwell)的書“引爆點”(The Tipping Point),該書有關於Blue’s Clues和芝麻街的幾個章節。 這讓她來到了芝麻街。 我總是說:「所有的道路都通向芝麻街。這就是文章如何發生在我身上:我遵循一條兔子小道,如果有什麼東西讓我感興趣,我會停下來。」

記錄一位多產的作家和非凡的人物

Meyer一直欽佩瑪雅·安吉洛,特別是在讀完她的第一本自傳「我知道為什麼籠中的鳥兒在高中唱歌」之後。 Meyer說:「我偶然發現了Caged Bird的文章,並對其低質量感到震驚。然後我訪問了她的傳記文章,並對這樣一個重要的作家和人物會有關於她的文章很糟糕的文章感到震驚。就像其他女性編輯所做的一樣,我決定幫助改變它,那時我就成了一名忠實的編輯。」這也是Meyer了解維基百科性別差距的時候。

Meyers在Moni3Scartol (英語高中教師)和已故的Adrianne Wadewitz的研究和寫作幫助下撰寫了Caged Bird文章。她閱讀了關於Angelou寫作的一切。她閱讀了Angelou的所有六部自傳,然後寫了關於他們每個人的文章,並將他們全部帶到了典範條目狀態。

Meyer說:「創建一個關於她的特色主題成為個人目標,我為2014年5月中旬的成就感到非常自豪。」不到兩週後,Angelou去世,享年86歲。她的生物和籠養鳥類文章在她去世的那一周被大約100萬人閱讀。

Meyer說:「當人們死亡時,世界開始使用維基百科,我很自豪我有責任確保人們擁有關於她的高質量,寫得好,研究得很好的信息,我唯一的遺憾是我從未見過她。」

對新編輯的建議

Meyer說:「編輯需要學習 Wiki-markup; 沒有辦法避免它。」 她承認自己並不是世界上最技術性的人,但在她明白這一點之前一直堅持下去。

「我使用VisualEditor,這是一個很好的工具,但它有局限性。我喜歡引用模板,因為手動創建引用可能很麻煩。」

最重要的是,她說維基百科中最好的工具是其他編輯。 Meyer說,如果你問,大多數人都熱心地願意提供幫助。 Meyer說:「如上所述,協作往往是維基百科最好的部分,所以你總能找到幫助你的人。」

通過研究,寫作和協作來學習

她最喜歡為維基百科做貢獻的部分是她通過研究文章和撰寫文章來學習新東西。

最有趣的事情之一就是找到一篇你認為永遠不可能成為典範條目的文章,然後在研究它之後,你會發現它們的確有可能的。其中一篇文章是斯坦福紀念教堂。現在,我沒有去斯坦福大學(雖然我的嫂子是本科生),但它只是吸引我。它的發展是另一個很好的合作範例。另外,我還要學習藝術,建築和器官。我最近生活的一個亮點是在2014年夏天參觀教堂,這是一種精神體驗。

Meyer說,她最喜歡的編輯方面之一也可能對某些貢獻者有爭議:編輯的協作性。 Meyer說:「當它起作用時,它很棒,但是當它有爭議或有爭議時,它可能會很痛苦。我很幸運,我很少有明顯的性別歧視經歷。但是我見過其他人有性別歧視經歷,我知道這件事發生了。我傾向於選擇無爭議的話題,所以我沒有引起太多關注。」

Meyer特別為她對維基百科GA杯的貢獻感到自豪:這是一個僅關注典範條目的冠軍式編輯挑戰。 本次比賽的目的是鼓勵對優質文章進行高質量的評論和推廣,並幫助減少傳統上長篇優秀文章的提名。 Meyer說:「我估計,由於GA杯,我幫助改進了數百篇文章,這比我貢獻的幾篇文章更有效。 兩者都很重要,但我為自己所取得的成就感到自豪。」

照片來源

Sesame Street Spaghetti Space Chase

Have you ever visited a Wikipedia page and found it so deeply engaging that you read through every word, then found yourself going deeper and deeper into the original source material? Take the history of Sesame Street, for example. The article describes how the early children’s program has changed and adapted over the past five decades, and contains wonderfully vivid details about the show’s earliest days.

Much of this is thanks to Christine Meyer, better known on Wikipedia as FigureSkatingFan. Meyer has worked on many of the articles related to Sesame Street, including the flagship article as well as pieces related to international co-productions and how Sesame Street conducts research.

Meyer has been editing Wikipedia for a decade. In that time, she’s made over 27,000 edits on the site and contributed to 23 featured articles and lists, as well as two featured topics—where “featured” is an indicator of high quality. Her interests span from children’s programming to American poet, memoirist, and civil rights activist Maya Angelou to the GA Cup, an annual contest focusing solely on good articles (another quality ranking).

From proofreader to editor

Meyer’s first edit on Wikipedia was made on 3 February 2007. “I saw the tagline on the main page—the free encyclopedia that anyone can edit—and actually believed it,” she says. “So I clicked on the link and set up an account, because I usually do what I’m told.”

At the start, Meyer focused on her attention on correcting typos. She graduated to checking sources, then moved into the trenches of editing–research, writing, and collaborating with others.  “I found that I really enjoyed the collaborative nature of Wikipedia, most of the time, when it wasn’t contentious,” Meyer says.

All roads lead to Sesame Street

Like many Wikipedia editors, Meyer started with what she knew. She’s a long-time fan of The Muppets, and first began watching the show since it premiered in 1969. “Plus, my kids are severely developmentally disabled, so we watched it daily,” Meyer says. “That makes me a natural expert on children’s television, so that became a niche for me on Wikipedia.”

My other articles are about The Wiggles, which I know everything about, Blue’s Clues (another featured article), and Sesame Street.  Sesame Street has the most written about it, so it was easy to research.  As I worked on the Sesame Street article, I found that I had enough content for the History of Sesame Street article, so I created and developed it.  I’ve developed a good-sized library about children’s TV.  It was fun and inspirational learning about Sesame Street! One of my favorite SS articles is Sesame Street international co-productions because it describes some of the great outreach Sesame Workshop does.

The Wiggles was her first featured article, which she took on because the show had made a big impact on her kids’ life.  Then she moved onto Blue’s Clues — “which is still my son’s favorite thing in the universe” — and found a lot of research about it. One of her sources was Malcolm Gladwell’s book The Tipping Point, which has a couple of chapters about Blue’s Clues and Sesame Street. That brought her to Sesame Street. “I always say, ‘All roads lead to Sesame Street.‘ That’s kind of how articles happen for me: I follow a bunny trail, and if something interests me, I stop.”

Documenting a prolific writer and remarkable figure

Meyer had always admired Maya Angelou, especially after reading her first autobiography I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings in high school. ” I stumbled upon the Caged Bird article, and was shocked at its low quality,” Meyer says. “Then I visited her biography article and became appalled that such an important writer and figure would have articles about her in such poor shape.” This was also around the time Meyer learned about Wikipedia’s gender gap. “Like other women editors have done, I decided to help change it, and that’s when I became a committed editor.”

Meyers wrote the Caged Bird article with research and writing help from Moni3, Scartol (an English high school teacher), and the late Adrianne Wadewitz. She read everything she could about Angelou’s writing. She read all six of Angelou’s autobiographies, then wrote articles about each of them and brought them all to featured article status.

“It became a personal goal to create a featured topic about her, which I’m very proud of accomplishing in mid-May 2014,” Meyer says. Less than two weeks later, Angelou died at the age of 86. Her bio and Caged Bird articles were read by about 1 million people the week she passed.

“The world turns to Wikipedia when people die, and I’m proud that I was partly responsible for ensuring that people have high-quality, well-written, well-researched information about her,” says Meyer. “My only regret is that I never got to meet her.”

Advice for new editors

“Committed editors need to learn Wiki-markup; there’s no way to avoid it,” Meyer says. She admits she’s not the most technical person in the world, but stuck with it until she figured it out.

“I use VisualEditor, which is a good tool, but it has limitations. I like the citing templates, since creating citations by hand can be cumbersome.”

Above all, she says the best tool in Wikipedia is other editors. Meyer says most are enthusiastically willing to help if you ask. “Collaboration is often the best part about Wikipedia, as I said above, so you can always find folks to help you,” she says.

Learning through research, writing, and collaboration

Her favorite part about contributing to Wikipedia is that she gets to learn something new by researching articles and writing them.

One of the most fun things is to find an article you think would never have the potential to be a featured article, and then after researching it, you discover that they do.  One of those articles for me was Stanford Memorial Church.  Now, I didn’t attend Stanford (although my sister-in-law did as an undergraduate), but it just drew me in.  Its development is another wonderful example of collaboration. Plus, I got to learn about art, architecture, and organs. One of the highlights of my recent life is visiting the church in the summer of 2014, which was a spiritual experience.

Meyer says one of her favorite aspects of editing can also be contentious for some contributors: the collaborative nature of editing. “When it works, it’s great, but when it’s contentious or controversial, it can be painful. I’ve been lucky; despite always being out as a woman, I’ve had very few experiences with overt sexism.  I’ve seen others experience it, though, so I know it happens. I tend to be drawn towards non-controversial topics, so I haven’t attracted much attention from the trolls.”

Meyer is particularly proud of her contributions to the Wikipedia GA Cup: a championship-style editing challenge focusing solely on Good Articles. The purpose of this competition is to encourage high-quality reviews and promotions of Good Articles, and to help decrease the traditionally long queue of good article nominations. “I estimate that because of the GA Cup, I’ve helped improve hundreds of articles, which is more effective than the few articles I’ve contributed to,” she says. “Both [are] important, but I’m proud of the difference we’ve made.”

Profiles — Profiles

Other members of Wikimedia community

Photo credits

Sesame Street Spaghetti Space Chase

Sesame Street Spaghetti Space Chase

Walter Lim from Singapore

CC BY 2.0