Sesame Street Spaghetti Space Chase

هل سبق لك أن زرت صفحة ويكيبيديا واكتشفتها بعمق من خلال قراءة كل كلمة ، ثم وجدت نفسك أعمق وأعمق في المادة الأصلية؟ خذ تاريخ شارع السمسم، على سبيل المثال. تصف المقالة كيف تغير برنامج الأطفال المبكر على مدى العقود الخمسة الماضية ، ويحتوي على تفاصيل حية رائعة عن أيام العرض المبكرة.

يرجع الكثير من الفضل في هذا الي كريستين ماير المعروفة في ويكيبيديا باسم (فيجرسكاتينجفان) وعملت ماير على العديد من المقالات المتعلقة بشارع السمسم، بما في ذلك المقالة الرئيسية بالإضافة إلى القطع المتعلقة بالإنتاج الدولي المشترك وكيفية إجراء أبحاث شارع السمسم

قامت ماير بتحرير ويكيبيديا لمدة عشر سنوات. في ذلك الوقت  أجرت أكثر من 27000 تعديل على الموقع وساهمت في 23 مقالة وقائمة مختارة ، بالإضافة إلى موضوعين مختارين – حيث  ان ” المقالة المختارة” هو مؤشر على جودة المقالة المتميزة . تمتد اهتماماتها من برامج الأطفال إلى الشاعرة الأمريكية   والناشطة في مجال الحقوق المدنية مايا أنجيلو إلى كأس المقالات الجيدة ، وهي مسابقة سنوية تركز فقط على المقالات الجيدة علي ويكيبيديا

 

من مدقق لغوي إلى محرر

قامت ماير بتحريرها الأول علي ويكيبيديا في 3 فبراير 2007. “لقد شاهدت الشعار على الصفحة الرئيسية – الموسوعة الحرة التي يمكن لأي شخص تحريرها – وصدقها بالفعل” ، كما تقول. “لذلك ، نقرت على الرابط وأعددت حسابًا ، لأنني عادةً ما أفعل ذلك.”

في البداية ، ركزت مماير يير اهتمامها على تصحيح الأخطاء اللغوية . تدرجت من التحقق من المصادر ، ثم انتقلت إلى خنادق التحرير – البحث والكتابة والتعاون مع الآخرين. تقول ماير: “لقد اكتشفت أنني استمتعت بالفعل بالطبيعة التعاونية لويكيبيديا، في معظم الأوقات ، عندما لم تكن مثيرة للجدل”.

 

كل الطرق تؤدي إلي شارع سمسم

مثل العديد من المحررين في ويكيبديا، بدأت ماير بما عرفته. كانت من أشد المعجبين ببرنامج ذا موبيتس ، وبدأت  مشاهدة البرنامج منذ عرضه لأول مرة في عام 1969. وتقول ماير: “بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن أطفالي يعانون من إعاقة شديدة في النمو ، لذلك شاهدناها يوميًا.” “هذا يجعلني خبيرة طبيعياً في تلفزيون الأطفال ، لذا أصبح ذلك مكاناً مناسباً لي على ويكيبيديا.”

مقالاتي الأخرى كانت عن ذا ويجلز، التي أعرف كل شيء عنها ، بلو كلوس (مقالة أخرى مختارة) ، ووجدت الكثير مما كتب عن شارع سمسم.  ، لذا كان من السهل البحث عنه. وعندما كنت أعمل في مقالة شارع سمسم، اكتشفت أن لدي محتوى كافٍ لمقالة تاريخ شارع سمسم، لذلك قمت بإنشائها . لقد قمت بتطوير مكتبة بحجم جيد حول تلفزيون الأطفال. لقد كانت ممتعة ومليئة بالتعلم عن شارع سمسم! واحدة من مقالاتي المفضلة هي  شارع سمسم العالمي للإنتاج الدولي المشترك لأنها تصف بعضًا من برنامج ورش سمسم العظيمة للتوعية.

 

كان مقالة ويجلز هو أول مقال مختار لها ، والذي شاركت فيه لأنه كان له تأثير كبير على حياة أطفالها. ثم انتقلت إلى مقالة بلوز كلوس – “الذي لا يزال الشيء المفضل لابني ” – ووجدت الكثير من الأبحاث حوله. أحد مصادرها كان كتاب مالكولم جلادويل ذا تيبينج بوينت ، الذي يحتوي على فصلين حول بلوز كلوس و شارع سمسم. وهذا الشي الذي أحضرها إلى شارع سمسم. “أنا دائما أقول ،” كل الطرق تؤدي إلى شارع السمسم. هذا نوع من كيف أنشئ المقالات بالنسبة لي: أنا أتبع درب الأرنب ، وإذا كان هناك شيء يهمني ، أتوقف “.

 

توثيق كاتب غزير ومميز

كانت ماير دائما معجبة بمايا أنجيلو ، خاصة بعد قراءتها لسيرتها الذاتية الأولى “أعرف لماذا يغرد الطائر الحبيس” في المدرسة الثانوية. تقول ماير: “لقد تعثرت في المقالة علي ويكيبيديا” وصدمت بسبب انخفاض جودتها”. “ثم زرت مقال سيرة حياتها وأصبت بالفزع من أن مثل هذا الكاتب والشخصية الهامة لها مقالة  في مثل هذا الشكل السيئ.” كان هذا أيضًا الوقت التي أدركت  فيه ماير بالفجوة بين الجنسين في ويكيبيديا. “مثلما فعلت المحررات الأخريات ، قررت المساعدة في تغييرها ، وذلك عندما أصبحت محررًة ملتزمه”.

كتبت مايرز مقال أعرف لماذا يغرد الطائر الحبيس مع مساعدة من موني3، سكارتول (مدرس في مدرسة ثانوية في اللغة الإنجليزية) ، و آدريان وايدويتز. قرأت كل ما تستطيعه حول كتابات أنجيلو. قرأت جميع السير الذاتية الستة لأنجيلو ، ثم كتبت مقالات عن كل منها وأصبحوا جميعا مقالات مختارة.

تقول ماير: “لقد أصبح هدفاً شخصياً لإنشاء موضوع مميز عنها ، وأنا فخوره جداً بإنجازي في منتصف مايو 2014”. بعد أقل من أسبوعين ، توفيت أنجيلو عن عمر يناهز 86 عامًا. وقد قرأ المقالات التي كتبها سيرتها الذاتية والطائر الحبيس حوالي مليون شخص في الأسبوع الذي توفت فيه.

تقول ماير: “يتحول العالم إلى ويكيبيديا عندما يموت الناس ، وأنا فخوره بأنني مسؤولة جزئيًا عن ضمان حصول الأشخاص على معلومات عالية الجودة ومكتوبة ومدروسة جيداً “. “أسفي الوحيد هو أنني لم أقابلها أبداً.”

 

نصيحة للمحررين الجدد

تقول ماير: “يحتاج المحررون إلى تعلم نص الويكي ، وليس هناك طريقة لتجنب ذلك”. تعترف أنها ليست الشخص الأكثر تقنيًا في العالم ، لكنها تعلقت بها إلى أن أتقنتها .

“أستخدم المحرر المرئي، وهي أداة جيدة ، ولكن لها حدود. أنا أحب قوالب الاستشهاد ، حيث أن إنشاء الاستشهادات يدويًا قد يكون مرهقًا.”

قبل كل شيء ، تقول إن أفضل أداة في ويكيبيديا هي المحررين الآخرين. حيث معظمهم مستعدون بشدة للمساعدة إذا طلبت ذلك. وتقول: “غالباً ما يكون التعاون هو أفضل جزء في ويكيبيديا ، كما قلت أعلاه ، لذا يمكنك دائمًا العثور على أشخاص لمساعدتك.”

 

التعلم من خلال البحث والكتابة والتعاون

الجزء المفضل لديها حول المساهمة في ويكيبيديا هو أنها تتعلم شيء جديد من خلال البحث في المقالات وكتابتها

أحد أكثر الأشياء متعة هو العثور على مقال تعتقد أنه لن يكون مطلقًا مقال مميز ، ثم بعد البحث عنه ، ستكتشف أنه يمكنه أن يكون مميز. واحدة من تلك المقالات بالنسبة لي كانت كنيسة ستانفورد التذكارية. الآن ، لم أحضر جامعة ستانفورد (على الرغم من أن شقيقة زوجتي كانت تمارس دراستها الجامعية) ، لكنني جذبتني. تطويرها هو مثال رائع آخر للتعاون. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تعلمت عن الفن والعمارة . واحدة من أبرز أحداث حياتي الأخيرة هي زيارة الكنيسة في صيف عام 2014 ، لقد كانت تجربة روحية.

تقول ماير إن أحد جوانبها المفضلة في التعديل يمكن أن تكون مثيرة للجدل لبعض المساهمين: الطبيعة التعاونية للتحرير. “عندما تعمل ، إنها رائعة ، ولكن عندما تكون مثيرة للجدل ، يمكن أن تكون مؤلمة. لقد كنت محظوظًة ؛ على الرغم من كوني امرأة ، إلا أن لدي تجارب قليلة جدًا مع التمييز الجنسي الصريح. لقد رأيت تجارب الآخرين ومع ذلك ، فإنني أعلم أن ذلك يحدث ، فأنا أميل إلى الانجذاب نحو مواضيع غير مثيرة للجدل ، لذلك لم أستقطب اهتمامًا كبيرًا من المتصيدون. “

تفخر ماير بشكل خاص بمساهماتها في كأس المقالات الجيدة: وهي بطولة للتحرير تركز فقط على المقالات الجيدة. إن الهدف من هذه المسابقة هو تشجيع المراجعات وترقيات المقالات لتكون عالية الجودة  ، والمساعدة في تقليص الطابور الطويل التقليدي لترشيحات المقالات الجيدة. “أقدر أنه بسبب كأس المقالات الجيدة ، لقد ساعدت في تحسين مئات المقالات ، وهي أكثر فعالية من المقالات القليلة التي ساهمت فيها” ، كما تقول. “كلاهما مهمان ، لكنني فخورة بالفرق الذي قمنا به.”

حقوق الصورة

Sesame Street Spaghetti Space Chase

Sesame Street Spaghetti Space Chase

Walter Lim from Singapore

CC BY 2.0

Sesame Street Spaghetti Space Chase

Have you ever visited a Wikipedia page and found it so deeply engaging that you read through every word, then found yourself going deeper and deeper into the original source material? Take the history of Sesame Street, for example. The article describes how the early children’s program has changed and adapted over the past five decades, and contains wonderfully vivid details about the show’s earliest days.

Much of this is thanks to Christine Meyer, better known on Wikipedia as FigureSkatingFan. Meyer has worked on many of the articles related to Sesame Street, including the flagship article as well as pieces related to international co-productions and how Sesame Street conducts research.

Meyer has been editing Wikipedia for a decade. In that time, she’s made over 27,000 edits on the site and contributed to 23 featured articles and lists, as well as two featured topics—where “featured” is an indicator of high quality. Her interests span from children’s programming to American poet, memoirist, and civil rights activist Maya Angelou to the GA Cup, an annual contest focusing solely on good articles (another quality ranking).

From proofreader to editor

Meyer’s first edit on Wikipedia was made on 3 February 2007. “I saw the tagline on the main page—the free encyclopedia that anyone can edit—and actually believed it,” she says. “So I clicked on the link and set up an account, because I usually do what I’m told.”

At the start, Meyer focused on her attention on correcting typos. She graduated to checking sources, then moved into the trenches of editing–research, writing, and collaborating with others.  “I found that I really enjoyed the collaborative nature of Wikipedia, most of the time, when it wasn’t contentious,” Meyer says.

All roads lead to Sesame Street

Like many Wikipedia editors, Meyer started with what she knew. She’s a long-time fan of The Muppets, and first began watching the show since it premiered in 1969. “Plus, my kids are severely developmentally disabled, so we watched it daily,” Meyer says. “That makes me a natural expert on children’s television, so that became a niche for me on Wikipedia.”

My other articles are about The Wiggles, which I know everything about, Blue’s Clues (another featured article), and Sesame Street.  Sesame Street has the most written about it, so it was easy to research.  As I worked on the Sesame Street article, I found that I had enough content for the History of Sesame Street article, so I created and developed it.  I’ve developed a good-sized library about children’s TV.  It was fun and inspirational learning about Sesame Street! One of my favorite SS articles is Sesame Street international co-productions because it describes some of the great outreach Sesame Workshop does.

The Wiggles was her first featured article, which she took on because the show had made a big impact on her kids’ life.  Then she moved onto Blue’s Clues — “which is still my son’s favorite thing in the universe” — and found a lot of research about it. One of her sources was Malcolm Gladwell’s book The Tipping Point, which has a couple of chapters about Blue’s Clues and Sesame Street. That brought her to Sesame Street. “I always say, ‘All roads lead to Sesame Street.‘ That’s kind of how articles happen for me: I follow a bunny trail, and if something interests me, I stop.”

Documenting a prolific writer and remarkable figure

Meyer had always admired Maya Angelou, especially after reading her first autobiography I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings in high school. ” I stumbled upon the Caged Bird article, and was shocked at its low quality,” Meyer says. “Then I visited her biography article and became appalled that such an important writer and figure would have articles about her in such poor shape.” This was also around the time Meyer learned about Wikipedia’s gender gap. “Like other women editors have done, I decided to help change it, and that’s when I became a committed editor.”

Meyers wrote the Caged Bird article with research and writing help from Moni3, Scartol (an English high school teacher), and the late Adrianne Wadewitz. She read everything she could about Angelou’s writing. She read all six of Angelou’s autobiographies, then wrote articles about each of them and brought them all to featured article status.

“It became a personal goal to create a featured topic about her, which I’m very proud of accomplishing in mid-May 2014,” Meyer says. Less than two weeks later, Angelou died at the age of 86. Her bio and Caged Bird articles were read by about 1 million people the week she passed.

“The world turns to Wikipedia when people die, and I’m proud that I was partly responsible for ensuring that people have high-quality, well-written, well-researched information about her,” says Meyer. “My only regret is that I never got to meet her.”

Advice for new editors

“Committed editors need to learn Wiki-markup; there’s no way to avoid it,” Meyer says. She admits she’s not the most technical person in the world, but stuck with it until she figured it out.

“I use VisualEditor, which is a good tool, but it has limitations. I like the citing templates, since creating citations by hand can be cumbersome.”

Above all, she says the best tool in Wikipedia is other editors. Meyer says most are enthusiastically willing to help if you ask. “Collaboration is often the best part about Wikipedia, as I said above, so you can always find folks to help you,” she says.

Learning through research, writing, and collaboration

Her favorite part about contributing to Wikipedia is that she gets to learn something new by researching articles and writing them.

One of the most fun things is to find an article you think would never have the potential to be a featured article, and then after researching it, you discover that they do.  One of those articles for me was Stanford Memorial Church.  Now, I didn’t attend Stanford (although my sister-in-law did as an undergraduate), but it just drew me in.  Its development is another wonderful example of collaboration. Plus, I got to learn about art, architecture, and organs. One of the highlights of my recent life is visiting the church in the summer of 2014, which was a spiritual experience.

Meyer says one of her favorite aspects of editing can also be contentious for some contributors: the collaborative nature of editing. “When it works, it’s great, but when it’s contentious or controversial, it can be painful. I’ve been lucky; despite always being out as a woman, I’ve had very few experiences with overt sexism.  I’ve seen others experience it, though, so I know it happens. I tend to be drawn towards non-controversial topics, so I haven’t attracted much attention from the trolls.”

Meyer is particularly proud of her contributions to the Wikipedia GA Cup: a championship-style editing challenge focusing solely on Good Articles. The purpose of this competition is to encourage high-quality reviews and promotions of Good Articles, and to help decrease the traditionally long queue of good article nominations. “I estimate that because of the GA Cup, I’ve helped improve hundreds of articles, which is more effective than the few articles I’ve contributed to,” she says. “Both [are] important, but I’m proud of the difference we’ve made.”

Profiles — Profiles

Other members of Wikimedia community

Photo credits

Sesame Street Spaghetti Space Chase

Sesame Street Spaghetti Space Chase

Walter Lim from Singapore

CC BY 2.0