Stiftungsrat

Esra’a Al Shafei

Esra’a Al Shafei ist eine Menschenrechtsaktivistin und die Gründerin und Direktorin von Majal, einer gemeinnützigen Organisation, die dabei hilft, Communitys aufzubauen, die Diversität und soziale Gerechtigkeit feiern, beschützen und bewerben.

Gebürtig aus Bahrain arbeitet Esra’a engagiert, um Redefreiheit zu erhöhen und zu beschützen, Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten für die Jugend und unterrepräsentierte Stimmen zu bewerben und das Leben von LGBTQ-Menschen im Nahen Osten und in Nordafrika zu verbessern. Sie hat Majal 2006 als Mideast Youth gegründet. Die Organisation hat Online-Plattformen aufgebaut, die auf kreative Weise den Kampf für sozialen Wandel im Nahen Osten und in Nordafrika unterstützt.

Esra’a hat 2008 den Berkman Award für Internet Innovation vom Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard Law School erhalten, für “hervorragende Beiträge zum Internet und seinen Impact auf die Gesellschaft”. Das World Economic Forum führt sie als eine von “15 Women Changing the World in 2015.”

Sie hat den “Most Courageous Media” Prize von Free Press Unlimited erhalten, sowie den Monaco Media Prize, der innovative Medien-Anwendungen zur Verbesserung der Menschheit würdigt.

Esra’a ist ein senior TED Fellow, ein Echoing Green fellow, und ein Director’s Fellow des MIT Media Lab. Sie hat 2012 eine Shuttleworth Foundation Fellowship für ihre Arbeit auf CrowdVoice.org erhalten. Sie lebt in der Region Naher Osten und Nordafrika.

Profile — Profils

Andere Mitglieder vonStiftungsrat

Shani Evenstein
Shani Evenstein Sigalov
Trustee, Stiftungsrat
Dr. Dariusz Jemielniak
Trustee, Stiftungsrat

Bildnachweis

Esra’a Al Shafei is a human rights activist and the founder and director of Majal, a nonprofit which helps build communities that celebrate, protect, and promote diversity, and social justice.

A native of Bahrain, Esra’a works avidly to increase and protect free speech, promote expression for youth and underrepresented voices, and improve the lives of LGBTQ people in the Middle East and North Africa. She founded Majal in 2006 as Mideast Youth. The organization has built online platforms that creatively facilitate the struggle for social change in the Middle East and North Africa.

Esra’a received the Berkman Award for Internet Innovation from Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard Law School in 2008 for “outstanding contributions to the internet and its impact on society.” The World Economic Forum listed her as one of “15 Women Changing the World in 2015.”

She has won the “Most Courageous Media” Prize from Free Press Unlimited, and the Monaco Media Prize, which acknowledges innovative uses of media for the betterment of humanity.

Esra’a is a senior TED Fellow, an Echoing Green fellow, and a Director’s Fellow at the MIT Media Lab. She received a Shuttleworth Foundation Fellowship in 2012 for her work on CrowdVoice.org. She lives in the Middle East and North Africa region.

Profiles — Profiles

Other members of Board of Trustees

Photo credits

Esra'a_Al_Shafei_avatar

Takasakiyama

Public domain